In between objects body sculpture

Another exploration of surrounding and location. These objects attached to me with wool were also picked up during my time in the lost in between. I challenge whether being surrounded by objects located from somewhere else could mean that you are back in the place that they were originally found. If they are attached to you, have you become part of their location – you are now one with the objects or are the objects still completely different pieces of matter? If they are attached to you then they are with you until you remove them there for arguing that the possible space in between that you are recreating, moves with you and isn’t just a circle to step in and out of.

I also recorded the incredible noise that was created from walking around with it all attached to me, I don’t know what I will do with the sound memo yet but it will be supporting ideas around comparison to the original more calm noise recorded during the time I picked all the objects up.

Reflection: what if all the objects in a space were attached to me and released of their potential sound and noise, could I argue that this is the true sound of your surroundings? – when everything is experienced to it’s full potential? What is the potential of collecting many objects all from a new moment or space (location) in between and bringing them all into a new space and exploiting them of their inner sounds to create a new sense of in between. This could even support popular current issues about equal rights and freedom of speech, or even how we need to listen to and consider our surrounding more as our natural environment is in need of extreme attention as soon as possible, as if the surrounding environment is crying out for help.

Notice my walking in circles. I strengthen the idea of being surrounded and within something, or a place or contained by something. The objects I found in the lost in between are surrounding me and attached to me, but in addition to this, I walk in circles and surround another place of land, space and time with the objects from before. How does this sit within my concept in terms of where this new place sits within time and space.

Leave a Reply

