LOST is an in between

Here, I am exploring the concept of being in the ‘in between’. In this case, the experience of being lost is addressed as the ‘in between’.

Being lost is when you experience being somewhere you have never been before (psychically or mentally) , you have no memories of this place, spacial understanding or awareness and instantly after the realisation of being somewhere completely unrecognisable or unfamiliar, we instinctively begin to try working out where we are. Looking at the idea of being lost in this way paints it as a kind of void when you consider the empty feeling at the specific moment in time when realising you are lost.

I got a friend to drive me blindfolded somewhere I’d never been before so that i could experience it myself. I documented the whole performance/experience through voice recording, automatic writing, video and collection objects from the surrounds of this in between moment.

Reflection: If I were to ‘get lost’ as another experiment/performance then I don’t think I’d include myself within the documentation video, it seems more surreal without the inclusion of myself there, plus it forces you to focus on the voice and sound over the video which I think would improve the outcome.

Leave a Reply

