Lost Stones Performance

When I did the experiment/ performance of getting lost in the in between where a friend drove me blind folded to a place I’d never been before, I picked up objects from the surroundings . In this performance done in central Falmouth, I reposition the stones picked up from the harbour around me challenging the notion of location and whether this could mean I am within that ‘space in between’ once more. What defines a place – surroundings, a feeling, geography, visuals, objects?

Reflection: consider the understanding and part played by the circle within the performance. What does the shape of the circle mean? To stand within a circle you are surrounded and this is a fact, standing in a circle means you are ‘within’ something, and you also within whatever the circle consists of or is made from. For example, I am within the stones that surround me in this circle of lost.

Leave a Reply

